Broker Check

Blog

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Markets experienced more volatility last week, as perspectives on trade, tech, and retail pulled investor sentiment back and forth. Although domestic indexes were up on Friday, November 16, they still posted losses for the week.[1] In...

 

Monday, November 12, 2018

Last week, markets experienced a 4-day winning streak before dropping on Friday, November 9. Despite those losses, domestic indexes posted gains for the week.[1] The S&P 500 increased 2.13%, the Dow added 2.84%, and the NASDAQ was up 0...

 

Monday, November 5, 2018

Markets posted strong gains last week after struggling for much of October. The S&P 500 had its best weekly performance since May, and the NASDAQ had its first positive week since September.[1] Despite domestic markets dropping on...

 

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Q3 Market Letter - October 2018 - TownSquare Capital

 

Monday, October 29, 2018

Last week did nothing to dispel October's reputation as a tough month for the markets. The S&P 500 lost 3.94%, the Dow declined 2.97%, and the NASDAQ dropped 3.78% during what was one of 2018's most volatile weeks so far. All three...

 

Show All

Monday, October 22, 2018

Stock performance was mixed last week as investors considered the impact of interest rates, international affairs and corporate earnings.[1] The S&P 500 gained 0.02%, and the Dow added 0.41% to post its first weekly gains in October....

 

Monday, October 15, 2018

Volatility was back in full force last week. The three major domestic indexes posted several days of losses before experiencing wide swings on Friday. By week's end, the Cboe Volatility Index (VIX), which investors use to help measure...

 

Monday, October 8, 2018

Although new data continued to show strength in the U.S. economy, markets stumbled across the globe last week.[1] The S&P 500 lost 0.98%, the Dow dropped 0.04%, and the NASDAQ declined 3.21%.[2] International stocks in the MSCI EAFE...

 

Monday, October 1, 2018

Friday, September 28, was the last trading day in 2018's 3rd quarter, and the S&P 500 posted its strongest quarterly return in nearly 5 years.[1] The Dow also showed impressive returns by beating expectations for the quarter, while...

 

Monday, September 24, 2018

Last week brought new tariffs and data, and another look at changes coming to equity classifications. Overall, the S&P 500 gained 0.85% and the Dow was up 2.25%,...

 

Wednesday, August 29, 2018

Tip: How Much? Check your Social Security earnings and see an estimate of your benefits on the website, www.ssa.gov. Social Security’s been a fact of retirement life ever since it was established in 1935. We all think we know how...